Conservamus

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Conservatory

Centre for music education, knowledge and culture

Thanks to its remarkable concert hall, the Royal Conservatory of Brussels has played a prominent role in the Belgian and Brussels music scene. It has also been the showcase for the activities of the two music colleges. Its rich artistic past and exceptional acoustic qualities have given it an enviable reputation among top artists.

Eugène Ysaÿe, Henrik Wieniawski, Arthur Grumiaux, Arthur De Greef, Désiré Defauw and the cream of the international music scene have made it famous abroad and given it a soul that not even the cracked stucco can impair.

The Conservatory organ is a masterpiece in itself and the only instrument in Brussels made by the famous French organ-maker Cavaillé-Coll, who also made the organ in Notre Dame in Paris. Specially designed for the concert hall, this romantic instrument, which today remains silent, is acknowledged throughout the world to be of exceptional musical and historical quality.

Since 1832, the Royal Conservatory of Brussels has also been expanding its music library. The current collection includes many rare and valuable items – including a recently discovered unknown autograph of Franz Liszt! The library too needs to be brought up to current international conservation, research and development standards.

 

Pledged Donations

€500000
donation thermometer
donation thermometer
€187027
donation thermometer
37%
Updated:
17/02/2012

Find us on Facebook

Conservamus

  • Augmenter la taille
  • Taille par défaut
  • Diminuer la taille
Home Conservatoire

Centre d’enseignement musical, de connaissance et de culture

Grâce à sa remarquable salle de concert, le complexe immobilier du Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles a joué jusqu’à présent un rôle d’avant-plan dans la vie musicale belge et bruxelloise. C’est également la vitrine des activités de ses deux écoles supérieures d’enseignement musical. Un riche passé et des qualités acoustiques exceptionnelles lui ont conféré une réputation internationale enviable, auprès des plus grands artistes.

Eugène Ysaÿe, Henry Wieniawski, Arthur Grumiaux, Arthur De Greef, Désiré Defauw et la fine fleur de la scène musicale internationale l’ont doté d’une renommée qui dépasse nos frontières et d’une âme, indélébile malgré ses stucs craquelés.

Embrassant la scène de son buffet monumental, l’orgue du Conservatoire est un chef-d’œuvre à lui seul et l’unique témoignage bruxellois du célèbre facteur français Cavaillé-Coll, à qui l’on doit notamment l’instrument mythique de Notre-Dame de Paris. Spécialement dessiné pour cette salle, cet instrument romantique, aujourd’hui désespérément muet, est répertorié mondialement comme un orgue aux qualités musicales et historiques tout à fait exceptionnelles.

Enfin, depuis 1832, le Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles n’a cessé d’enrichir sa bibliothèque musicale. La collection actuelle comporte de nombreuses pièces uniques et précieuses, où naguère on découvrit un autographe inconnu de Franz Liszt ! Son infrastructure doit elle aussi être profondément adaptée aux normes internationales actuelles de conservation, de consultation, de recherche et développement.